top of page

StuntPOC Spotlight: Jamal Warren


Jamal Warren - Stuntman

Tell about your background and how you entered into the world of stunts.

Well I was raised in the martial arts from early childhood, later as a teenager I started dancing.


I’ve trained with future stunt performers at my martial arts school and later as a dancer I knew some folks that made a transition over to the business as well.


I was a little hesitant to do the same at first because it seemed like everyone wanted to do it. But I decided to try and make the transition and it worked out great. 

What is your greatest skill? Is there a story behind it? 

I believe fighting, weaponry and wrecks would be my greatest skills at this point.


I’m still training and learning. 

Is there someone in stunts who has inspired your career as a stunt performer?

There’s few people that have inspired me over the years.


I love a lot of the old school guys and some new guys as well.


I have a huge respect for the Hongkong style of fighting. People like Tan Tao Lang, lau kar Leung, Philip Kwok, Lo Ming.


But I also love the awesome kicks of some American guys. Keith Hirabayashi, Benny the Jet, Chuck Jefferys and more.


I also find inspiration in people like Jay Lynch, Aaron Tony and more. 


What is the greatest part about the stunt community? What could be changed for the better?

The greatest thing about the stunt community is I see a quest for consistent learning.


A yearning to want to always obtain information and skills. That’s what I like the most.


What could be better is more unity. 

What advice would you give up and coming stunt performers?

Funny thing is that I still see myself as up and coming.


The would say the best thing to do is stay humble and learn as much as you can and stay safe above everything. 


Tell your all-time personal favorite stunt story!

One of my favorite stories Is getting the chance will work on John Wick 3 with 8711 and actually fighting Keanu Reeves.


The experience was amazing and a very great time to learn so much more. It was cut in the final edit but I was happy it happened.

Jamal Warren - Stuntman

Is there anything else you would like to tell the stunt community?

I would like to say thank you!


It’s given me more reassurance that I’m on the right path of my purpose


Instagram: @nemesisnyc

StuntPOC: https://stuntpoc.com/stunt-performer/jamal-warren/

161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page