top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: Troy Castaneda

Updated: Jan 5, 2021


Tell about yourself and story, Troy!

First off, thank you so much for having me! I am a former competitive gymnast (13 years) turned professional race car driver (10 years) that fell into the world of circus and live show performing.


My first language was Spanish as my Father is from Peru and I learned to speak Italian while living in Italy during my racing career. I’m an old soul that loves learning new things and connecting with my peers through training or work!

What inspired you to become a stunt person?

I never wanted to give up gymnastics or racing so I’ve always had an itch to find something to continue both careers.


I became involved with Film/TV while living in San Francisco which opened my eyes to the world of stunts and the possibility of being able to utilize what I spent most of my life doing.

What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer, is there a story behind it?

I think my greatest skill is adaptability. Being able to adjust appropriately to last minute changes without becoming overwhelmed.


I believe the base for this is gymnastics. It taught me a lot about discipline and focus, but everything really came together when I started racing.


The path to the top is never a straight line and while networking for partnerships things would fall through all the time until it finally came together. And then in that moment, now the real pressure started, sitting behind the wheel for the chance to prove myself before starting the hustle all over again.


Racing conditions can change dramatically so being prepared for anything and everything is key.

What is the best part about being a stunt performer?

Being able to do what I love for a living! Then on top of that, meeting so many other extremely talented performers that have the same passion for the craft as I do.


I love being able to learn from and train with my peers.

What advice would you give other stunt people?

Never give up if you love it! Finally being able to work on set makes it all worth it.

Anything else you would like to tell the community about?

Thank you to those who have inspired me to continue pushing through those tough days. Thank you to SPD [stuntplayers.com] for the opportunity for all of us to stay connected and share our stories!






234 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page