top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: Talyn Ann Edelson

Updated: Oct 13, 2020


Tell about yourself, Talyn!

I'm an edgy and offbeat Laura Dern with sprinkles of Zoey Deschanel who often plays an anti-hero.


I'm an adopted girl who was raised on a ranch in Oklahoma and briefly attended school in England as a child.


I have degrees in acting and graphic/motion design from Oklahoma State University. In addition to training for stunts, I did theatre and musical theatre until I graduated from University.


I first moved to Los Angeles in 2009 to pursue my childhood dreams of being a successful performer.


A few of my favorite activities are martial arts, rock climbing, snowboarding, yoga, swimming in the ocean and riding my motorcycle.

What inspired you to become a stunt person?

I've wanted to be a stunt performer since I found out what stunts were in my early high school years.


I've done acting and martial arts and athletics since I was seven years old, and once I found out that there was a job I could do that included both of the things I love more than anything else, I knew there was nothing else I wanted to do with my life.

What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer, is there a story behind it? My passion is fighting.


My father and I got our black belts together (he made it to first degree, so I of course had to top him and get my second degree black belt) when I was younger and I've always been most fond of fighting and weaponry.

What is the best part about being a stunt performer?  My favorite part about being a stunt performer is that it brings me genuine joy in addition to senses of pride, presence and peace when I have the opportunity to create inspiring and aesthetically pleasing content with people that I like.


I find ultimate satisfaction when I get a call to work on set because I am literally living my childhood dreams when it happens.


I feel so honored to be respected enough to work in this amazing industry alongside people I enjoy and admire.


Additionally, the opportunities for constant learning and growth charge me and give me so much energy to share with others. It's truly a magical profession. 

What advice would you give other stunt people? Don't do it if you don't love it. The journey is difficult.


It's better to be over-prepared than underprepared.


Don't have expectations.


Be safe and keep your body as healthy as possible.


Learn to not let the negative energy of others have an effect on you.


Have fun!

Anything else you would like to tell the community about?

Mentors and friends of mine— thank you so much for teaching me such incredible amounts as I forge my path. I am honored to have made it this far and to have you in my life— you know who you are! Your encouragement, acceptance and support mean more to me than you know.


Instagram: @TalynEdelson

191 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page