top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: Steven Turner


Tell about yourself, Steven!

My name is actually Steven Turner, most people know me by Spidey. It's actually a nickname my mom gave me and calls me to this day.


I'm a dad and I think I'm pretty good at it, it helps that my kids are pretty cool most of the time.


I love everything about film. I probably watch way too many movies, but it stimulates my creative mind and has served a good outlet to cruise around in my own fantasy world.


What inspired you to become a stunt person?

I grew up loving movies and martial arts.


When I got into these old school martial art movies, I remember actually googling "How to become a stuntman" in the early days of the internet and the results were not too helpful, but luckily I figured it out eventually... or more accurately, I randomly stumbled into getting hired for my first fight scene in a movie.


I fell in love with stunts and it just snowballed from there.


What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer, is there a story behind it?

My greatest skill I would say are my WRECKS. I love a good wreck (I think a core ability of a stunt performer is their ability to gracefully fall) and it probably came from my love of professional wrestling.


As a teen I loved watching the high flyers perform their spectacularly risky moves. (Side note: my favorite wrestler is hands down The Undertaker)


What is the best part about being a stunt performer?

For me, at least, the best part is getting paid to play pretend all day (Seriously, I feel like a con artist at times because I enjoy my job so much) also, working in film; which as a huge film-nerd is just an awesome experience in helping to bring these stories to life.


What advice would you give other stunt people?

Take care of your body and mind and be confident in yourself as a performer. TOMET NOSCE


Anything else you would like to tell the community about?

Umm... If you see me I tend to have resting "sad face" don't worry I'm OK. I'm actually pretty happy on the inside these days, but I always love talking to people and listening to new stories and experiences especially in our community.




Tell your all-time personal favorite stunt story!

My first on-screen car hit was funny to me because there I was on set, standing like 25 feet from the car that's going to hit me.


It feels like everyone is watching me, including all of these stunt legends in my eyes that just all happened to be on set that day. My adrenaline sky rockets, I'm in the zone as I hear the director count down. 3... 2... 1... All of sudden he stops and starts asking the crew all these technical questions. My whole world comes back to reality and I'm thinking, "Oh no! My adrenaline just peeked, so If this car is gonna hit me its gotta be RIGHT NOW!" luckily, I just keep my composure and breathe.


They figure out the kinks and he yells "ACTION!" and everything goes as perfect as I could hope for; first take. It was definitely a highlight moment in my career.





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page