top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: Silas Borelly


Tell the community about yourself!

My name is Silas Borelly, I’m 24 years old.


I was born and raised in New Orleans, Louisiana in a family of 11. I’m currently relocating to Los Angeles, California.


I grew up in theater then started in film and television when I turned 18. I started in stunts 2 years ago.


What inspired you to become a stunt person?

Growing up I was very involved in high energy activities such as most sports, or riding ATV’s, dirtbikes, and horses. So when I learned about stunts a few years ago I felt like it was everything I’ve always enjoyed doing and more.


What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer?

I’d say my greatest skill as a stunt performer is my ability to adapt and adjust on the go.


I’m very good at understanding direction and applying it.


Also I think being an actor is a big asset for me. My favorite roles are those that I have more acting involved.


I’m also very observant and that helps me understand more and do better in the long run.


What is the best part about being a stunt performer?

The best part about being a stunt performer is that you never get the same job twice. It’s always gonna be something new and usually exciting. I feel like it’ll never get old and that’s an awesome feeling to have about your job.


What advice would you give other stunt people?

The best advice I have for other stunt performers are two things-

1- Have a good attitude, be attentive, diligent, and helpful.


2- Learn filmmaking as a whole. Being well accustomed to other sides of filmmaking besides stunts will make you a more valuable stunt person.



Anything else you would like to tell the community about?

Fun fact- I was on the Pelicans Hype Team for the 2019-2020 season which consisted of acrobatic dunkers, dancers, and tumblers. We would perform during halftime, quarter breaks, or timeouts at most of the home games.


It was an amazing experience and gave me the opportunity to learn new tricks off the trampolines and also work on dancing skills and other things.



Tell your favorite stunt story.

This isn’t necessarily a stunt story but it does have stunts involved and I thought it was hilarious so here’s the story-


I was shooting a short film with some friends and we had this scene where I get kicked in the face, stumble back and when I turn back around to face camera it’s supposed to be a funny reveal that I’m cross-eyed.


Well we were getting a dirty over my friend that kicks me in the scene and he kept laughing every time I would turn to reveal my cross-eyed face. So after a number of takes he still couldn’t stop laughing so we had him close his eyes in this shot since you just see the back of his head.


So we shoot it again and now the camera man can’t hold in his laughs so after a few more takes of failing to get a clean shot with no laughs we then have the camera op close his eyes and yes, shoot this reveal shot blindly. Well we finally got the shot but I just wish we could’ve had a BTS video of this scene being shot with both the actor and camera op closing their eyes while filming.






130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page