top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: Sean Egli


Tell about yourself and stunts, Sean!

So I grew up in various parts of Utah. I was fortunate to have a big group of thrill seeking friends and we weren't far from the mountains. We all came from generations of skiers and snowboarders so it was easy to go have fun and go shoot awesome riding footage so close to home.


A few friends and I stepped it up into the competitive zone of free skiing and snowboarding. We had the ability (and budget) to go a lot bigger, faster and our goals became a reality. I really started to push it as a snowboarder and haven't stopped to this day!


I got myself into big mountain riding and mountaineering. I was lucky to get the chance to climb and ride some of the biggest peaks in the USA. As I got older I ventured into other action sports activities from boating to jet skis to downhill mountain biking and rock climbing and surfing.

I immersed myself in firearms training and various forms of shooting and I started teaching myself every thing there is about firearms - all the "how to" knowledge of proper handling, technique, etc... I also took local classes and seminars.


I had and still do have a passion for music performance so I took a break for a few years from the adrenaline search and I got into touring as a contract guitar and drum technician. During my time on the road I was surprised to meet so many other action sports oriented weekend warriors out there and my life became one wild ride all over again!


I'd go tour with a band doing audio or stage set up, only to meet another likeminded individual and we'd swap info. The next time we were free we'd meet up and go into the mountains or the waves and make a memory of it.

What inspired you to become a stunt person?

Well I was very lucky to associate myself with some professional athletes in my snowboarding career who inspired me to step up and go to the next level.


Entertainment was never something I thought I was wanting to venture into but I had hit a wall in snowboarding and was in a bit of a dead zone and I wanted to try new things to feel accomplished.


Being into action sports you learn to face your fears head on and I realized one time,  "Hey, I'm not afraid of heights, I am good in the water, I can shoot guns, and I can keep a cool head on my shoulders so why am I not doing this for a living because I'm already living it!"


I also got into the industry because I have a step brother who has had a solid career in Hollywood on the motion capture side and he personally inspired me from a very young age.


I knew at some point I had to get into film but I never thought it would be stunts!

What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer, is there a story behind it? 

I honestly think my best skill as a stunt performer is that I that I am a jack of all trades yet a master of none.


Having experience in the music industry in some ways has helped me understand set life. I am able to make myself more readily available and useful on set and in certain situations. 


What is the best part about being a stunt performer?

I truly believe the best part of being a stunt performer is all the friendships I have made along the way.


I have also been pushed by some amazing people to daily better myself as a person and stuntman.


The stunt community is very tight knit and I am proud to be part of an industry where not only do we get to do some cool things on the big screen but to know that all walks of life put it together is the best part.

What advice would you give other stunt people?

To sit back and listen. Be humble. Be open. And ask lots of questions!


I am still an entry level stunt performer but I can tell you that one thing that goes so far is your ability to take in directions and know it's ok to say, "Yeah I got this" or to know when to fold.


And another thing that is very important is to make sure you are able to adapt to change because on set it can all go a whole new direction in the blink of an eye. You need to be ready!


Instagram: @Stuntnsean35

148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page