top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: Jody Cieutat


What inspired you to become a stunt person?

Truthfully I wasn’t even looking.


My first film was in 2015 as an extra. My mother was watching news and they had a casting call for elves.


Me being 3’11 and feeling like 6’4, I wasn’t interested. Eventually me and my wife talked, I gave in and here I go.


The first film 16 hours later I was like holy cow never again. Fast forward, I met a really great guy on that first film and he called me up a year later.


So off I went to work on Garry Marshall’s last film.


While we was in a hold, I sat next to Michael Endoso, he asked “Ever thought of stunts?”


I was 33 and thinking am I too old?


That comment stuck with me for weeks after the film ended, till I finally said “I’m not old, just short.”


Use that as your advantage. So that’s how it all started.

What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer, is there a story behind it?

Just starting in the business I would say my attitude.


I never grew up in sports. So lacked all that skills.


Now at 39 I’m slowly learning them and getting the fittest I’ve ever been.


Being attentive, learning.


Most of all keeping that “I am not 3’11, you can do anything mindset.”


Tell your all-time personal favorite stunt story!

So far it would have to be with Brad Martin.


We was working on Greenland that he was the coordinator on. I was on my first day on a stunt contract.


I was chilling out and he walks by says “Wanna go with me?”


I was like sure, we hop in the dually and I learned very quick, speed wasn’t something just running in my veins.

What is the best part about being a stunt performer?

Money, right?


Actually when I did my second film I saw the stunt guys come in like super heroes,


I heard the “Those are the stunts guys."


It intrigued me as too everyone had respect and knew them.


After I worked a few more films it was like, “I am noticed because of my size, I wanna be noticed as more.”

What advice would you give other stunt people?

Get out of your own head someone is always better (just do you).


Learn the business, NETWORK!

Anything else you would like to tell the community about?

Be prepared for anything.


Attitude is everything and opens so many doors.

Check Out Jody's Links!

Instagram: @jodycieutat

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page