top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: Gary Choi


Tell about yourself and story! My name is Gary Choi, U got involved in stunts when I was a kid from my Sifu (Martial Arts Instructor).


I was training in Chinese Kung Fu and one thing led to another and next thing I know I was on a set at 10 years old.


I primarily do HK style stunts, which go quicker and closer. It requires a different skill set.


Currently I am in ABQ, NM and running a stunt team, where I can do my best and show them how to be safe on set.


I teach them HK style and promote teamwork.


What inspired you to become a stunt person?

I wouldn't say inspired… I was sort of dragged into it and now… my biggest motivation is to keep people safe.

What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer, is there a story behind it?

I would say to learn and to react.


In HK you have to sell the hit and reaction and because it's a lot more pressure to succeed, you have to learn much faster.

What is the best part about being a stunt performer?

The comradery… the looking at each other and knowing you did something amazing and you are part of a great community

What advice would you give other stunt people?

Take your time, breathe and its ok to say no

Anything else you would like to tell the community about?

Its not worth it sometimes, theres always another gig and your safety and self respect is not worth cutting things short.


Check Out Rising Star Stunt Team!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page