top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: David Roth


Tell the community about yourself!

I was born and raised in the East Side suburbs of Cleveland. From the time I was four years old, I began training in martial arts, eventually becoming a black belt thirteen years later and teaching during that time as well.


Since I was a kid, I loved pretending to be different characters, throwing myself around the house during make-believe fights and storylines I would concoct. As I got older, my interest in gymnastic abilities such as flips and handsprings grew, and I began to work on various tricks during water breaks at my martial arts classes.


I've always been somebody who likes to push their boundaries, trying out new sports and building new physical skills, so entering the industry was always a dream of mine that seemed unattainable at the time. My first exposure came at maybe 7 or 8 years old when I briefly made it on the news during a special event at the local mall.


It happened totally by chance, but I remember how excited I was about the experience and wanted to have another. My entry into the stunt world came in a very similar fashion during my Junior year of high school when I met Rick Fike at a regional martial arts event my dojo was hosting.


After helping out with one of the seminars, my dad called me over to meet Mr. Fike and I was fortunate enough for him to invite me and my dad to come to his upcoming Stunt Predators workshop. I remember we did stair falls and I had such a great time that I've been coming back for nine years now.

What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer, is there a story behind it?

I wouldn't say that I have a greatest skill. My martial arts background helps me with fight scenes and selling the shot, but I have always had more of a "jack of trades, master of none" mindset.


I find enjoyment from trying new things and am driven to see how far I can push myself with them. Sometimes it's both a blessing and a curse how difficult it is to find things that I don't like to do. Because of that, I would say my affinity for picking up new talents is my greatest asset.

What is the best part about being a stunt performer?

The uniqueness of the job. As a stunt performer, you're exposed to so many new skills, experiences, and people. Through all of my sports and hobbies, no other group compares to stunt professionals.


There are infinite new experiences to be had and that's something I can always get excited about.

What advice would you give other stunt people?

As a novice still, I am more in the student's chair than the teacher's. What I can say is when you love what you're doing, the hard work and dedication is always worth it.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page