top of page

Stunt Performer Spotlight: Chris Reid


Tell about yourself, Chris!

I grew up in Washington state (the sunny part), and was lucky enough to have parents who owned a gymnastics school.


My daycare for the first twelve years of my life was trampolines, foam pits, and pommel horses. I started competing pretty young until I grew too tall for the sport (6'), and then got more into soccer.


After high school I went to college with a soccer scholarship and discovered theatre during the off season. I immediately fell in love with acting and four years later drove down to Los Angeles with a sh*tty Corolla, and a B.A. in Acting.


While pursuing acting I was thrown into a couple stunt gigs because they needed a backflip or a high fall, and that's when I fell in love again, this time with stunts.

What inspired you to become a stunt person?

Simply said, I was inspired most by the people in the industry. It's inundated with world-class talent from so many different backgrounds, and I appreciate how that keeps you humble.


You can always learn one more skill for the entirety of your career, I just love that.

What is your greatest skill as a stunt performer, is there a story behind it?

I'd say it's a tie between my acting abilities and matching the actor I'm doubling. When it comes to copying their gait, posture, and general movement, I pay super close attention to the details and mirror that the best I can.


Oh, and flips too.

What is the best part about being a stunt performer?

The variety.


Every job is different from the last. Sometimes vastly different.


I could absolutely never work an office job, so thank GOD I found this.

What advice would you give other stunt people?

Eat healthy food, and get quality sleep.


Train hard but back it up with smart choices.


Your body is the money-maker; ensure its longevity.



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page